If you suspect a child is in immediate danger, please call 911.
Reporting Child Abuse: If you suspect that a child is being abused or neglected, report it. Call 1-800-649-5285 — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Our 24-hour Child Protection Line makes it easy for you to share your concerns about a child with a trained social worker.
Your call could protect a child, get help for a family, and may even save a child’s life.
TIP: When you report child abuse or neglect, try to have as much information on hand as possible (e.g., the names of the child’s parents/caretakers; the child’s name, date of birth, home address, school or child care facility; and the nature and extent of the injuries or allegations of abuse/neglect). A social worker will ask you questions about the situation, record the information you provide, ask you to complete a written report, and in some cases, ask you to gather more information. You can fax your written report to (802) 241-3301.
Who must report child abuse? Certain people are required by Vermont law to report suspected cases of child abuse and neglect. These mandated reportersare legally required to report their suspicions to the Family Services Division of DCF—within 24 hours.
What happens to reports received? A supervisor reviews the reports — often the same day they are received. For each report, the supervisor must determine whether it alleges abuse or neglect as defined by state law.
According to Vermont law, a report will be accepted if it indicates:
A person responsible for a child’s welfare has harmed or is harming the child by physical injury, neglect, medical neglect, emotional maltreatment, or abandonment;
A person responsible for a child’s welfare has placed the child at significant risk of serious physical harm;
Anyone has placed a child at significant risk of sexual abuse; or
Anyone has sexually abused a child.
Is my report confidential? We will not divulge your identity unless:
You give us your permission to do so;
Your report leads to a court or human services board proceeding;
A court finds probable cause to believe your report was not made in good faith and orders DCF to divulge your identity; or
The person substantiated for abuse requests a review of the decision, and we determine that identifying information about you can be provided without compromising your safety.